Can you get your car repaired at the agency?
The standard policy does not say you get agency repair in your car's first three years. After that, you can ask when you take out the policy. Your insurer may agree, at a premium up to the tariff maximum. Your Schedule shows what your plan includes.
Agency repair means repair in the agency workshops. For your own car, the UAE standard wording is the Loss and Damage policy. It has one paragraph on agency repair, and it says the insurer “may” respond.1 The Arabic text also says may.2
The Third Party policy has separate rules for a car damaged by someone else.3
Can you get agency repair after three years?
You can ask when you take out the policy. The paragraph covers the period after your car’s first three years on the road. Your insurer may agree to your request and set an appropriate premium.1
Any premium for it may not exceed the maximum in the motor tariff, the regulator’s price rules. The tariff sets a maximum rate of 5% for salon cars and 7% for four-wheel drives.4 Those are regulated maximums, not prices.
Do you get agency repair in the first three years?
The standard wording does not say. Its one paragraph addresses only the period after.1 It does not say whether agency repair in years one to three is required, or is a market convention.
The Central Bank’s consumer brochure says more about a new car. It says the insurer shall repair at an agency shop if the car is one year old or less and you have comprehensive insurance “per his or her contract”, typically for an additional premium.5 The brochure is not the policy, so check your Schedule.
Where else can your car be repaired?
At shops approved by your insurer, or you can arrange the repair yourself. At an approved shop, the work must be warranted, and you must be able to have it checked by an approved motor vehicle examination agency in the UAE. You can arrange the repair if the estimate does not exceed the value agreed in writing.1 Whichever shop does the work, UAE traffic law bars a repair centre from repairing a vehicle with signs of accident or damage without a repair permit from the traffic authority or whoever it authorises (Art 28).6
Nissan Patrol, All-new Patrol, Middle East technical data sheet, XE grade. Length 5,205 mm, wheelbase 3,075 mm, height 1,945 mm. Numbers mark where each cover question attaches. They say nothing about what any policy covers. Stylised drawing from cited dimensions, not a manufacturer image.
Nissan Middle East newsroom, read 2026-11-04. Figures from a GCC source, not a UAE page.
What if another driver damaged your car?
It depends on your car’s age. Table 1 applies where another driver’s Third Party policy pays for your car.3
| Time since first registration or use | Where repair is done | If your own Loss and Damage policy has an agency repair condition |
|---|---|---|
| First year of registration and use | Agency repair shops, where repair is agreed with you | The policy does not say separately |
| More than one year, to the end of year two | Suitable shops for the type and year. The English and Arabic wordings differ on parts | Repair at the agency. Your insurer recovers from the third party insurer less 15% of the final bill |
| More than two years, to the end of year three | Suitable shops for the type and year. The English and Arabic wordings differ on parts | Repair at the agency. Your insurer recovers from the third party insurer less 30% of the final bill |
| More than three years | Suitable shops. Original parts of the same standard | The condition "shall remain effective". The policy states no recovery percentage |
The deduction is 15% in year two, 30% in year three, of the final repair bill. It sits in the reimbursement between insurers. The policy does not mention charging it to you.3
The English and Arabic wordings differ on parts in years two and three.3,7 Ask the insurer paying for the repair which parts it will use.
Does your plan include agency repair?
It depends on your plan. Three insurers list it as a plan feature.
- GIG Gulf lists a maximum agency repair period of 5 years on Comprehensive Prestige, optional up to 5 years on Comprehensive Perfect, and none on Third Party.8
- Sukoon lists Dealer Repairs if it is shown on your Schedule, with conditions. Its wording states no upper age. It says Dealer Repairs is automatically included for a vehicle up to 12 months old, in a sentence printed incomplete.9
- NGI lists 3 years of agency repair on its Gold plan.10
These are listed insurer terms, separate from the standard wording. Ask your insurer whether your Schedule includes agency repair, and for what vehicle age.
The small print
- The paragraph in full. Chapter Two para 9 of the Loss and Damage policy reads, with the published grammar unchanged: “In the case of the Insured wishes at the time of concluding the contract to repair the motor vehicle inside the Agency workshops after the lapse of the first three years of using the motor vehicle on the road, the Insurance Company may respond to the request and the determine an appropriate premium not exceeding the maximum tariff limit.”1
- Versions. Both unified policies here are the version consolidated 18 January 2021.1,3
- Maximum rates. The 5% and 7% are in Tariff Table 2.4
- Other repair rules. Repair at approved shops is Chapter Two para 7 of the Loss and Damage policy. Repair you arrange is para 4.1
- Table 1 references. These are Third Party Chapter One. First year: para 12. Year two: paras 13(a) and 13(b)(1). Year three: paras 13(a) and 13(b)(2). More than three years: para 13(b)(3).3
- English and Arabic on parts. In para 13(a), the English says parts “may be replaced by other than original parts of the same grade”.3 The Arabic says they are replaced with original parts of the same standard (our translation).7
- Insurers. GIG Gulf is Gulf Insurance Group (Gulf) B.S.C (c).8 Sukoon is Sukoon Insurance PJSC. Dealer Repairs is additional benefit 3.12 in its motor wording, print code 11/2024.9 Both are listed in the CBUAE register, September 2026.11
What the policy wording says
Document by document
| Document | First three years | After three years |
|---|---|---|
| Insurer product page: GIG Gulf, as of 2026-11-04 | Conditional85 years on Prestige, optional up to 5 years on Perfect, No on Third Party. | Conditional8Same plan listing, up to the fifth year. |
| Insurer policy wording: Sukoon, print code 11/2024 | Conditional9Benefit 3.12. Automatically included for a vehicle up to 12 months old, in a sentence printed incomplete. Otherwise only if shown on the Schedule, with driver and dealer registration conditions. | Conditional9Benefit 3.12. Only if shown on the Schedule, with driver and dealer registration conditions. No age limit stated. |
| UAE standard wording: Loss and Damage policy | Not stated in the documents1Para 9 addresses only the period after the first three years. | Conditional1The insurer "may respond to the request". Chapter Two para 9. |
| UAE standard wording: Third Party policy, repair of the injured party's car | Conditional3Agency shops in the first year if repair is agreed. In years two and three, only with a repair-within-agency condition. Chapter One paras 12 and 13. | Conditional3A repair-within-agency condition "shall remain effective". Chapter One para 13(b)(3). |
Not stated in the documents does not mean the cover is absent. It means the reviewed document is silent.
Clause by clause
| Question and reading | Status | Source | Effective | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Can the Insured ask for agency repair after three years?1In the case of the Insured wishes at the time of concluding the contract to repair the motor vehicle inside the Agency workshops after the lapse of the first three years of using the motor vehicle on the road, the Insurance Company may respond to the request and the determine an appropriate premium not exceeding the maximum tariff limit. | Conditional | Chapter Two para 9Unified policy (CBUAE Rulebook), Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Loss and Damagev2 consolidated 2021-01-18 | 1 Jan 2017 | 4 Nov 2026 |
| Does the Loss and Damage policy state agency repair in the first three years?1The paragraph addresses only the period after the first three years. | Not stated in the documents | Chapter Two para 9Unified policy (CBUAE Rulebook), Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Loss and Damagev2 consolidated 2021-01-18 | 1 Jan 2017 | 4 Nov 2026 |
| What does the policy say about repair at shops approved by the insurer?1The work must be warranted by the shop, and the Insured must be able to have the repair checked by an approved examination agency. | Conditional | Chapter Two para 7Unified policy (CBUAE Rulebook), Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Loss and Damagev2 consolidated 2021-01-18 | 1 Jan 2017 | 4 Nov 2026 |
| Can the Insured arrange the repair?1Yes, if the estimated cost does not exceed the repair value agreed in writing with the insurer. | Conditional | Chapter Two para 4Unified policy (CBUAE Rulebook), Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Loss and Damagev2 consolidated 2021-01-18 | 1 Jan 2017 | 4 Nov 2026 |
| Where is an injured third party's car repaired in its first year?3At the agency repair shops, where repair is agreed with the injured third party and the vehicle is in its first year of registration and use. | Conditional | Chapter One para 12Unified policy (CBUAE Rulebook), Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Third Party Liabilityv2 consolidated 2021-01-18 | 1 Jan 2017 | 4 Nov 2026 |
Does a repair-within-agency condition last beyond three years in a third party claim?3shall remain effective | Conditional | Chapter One para 13(b)(3)Unified policy (CBUAE Rulebook), Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Third Party Liabilityv2 consolidated 2021-01-18 | 1 Jan 2017 | 4 Nov 2026 |
| What agency repair period does GIG Gulf list?8Maximum agency repair period of 5 years on Prestige, optional up to 5 years on Perfect, none on Third Party. | Conditional | Plan comparison tableGIG Gulf, Car insurance product page | 4 Nov 2026 | |
| Does Sukoon's wording list dealer repairs?9Dealer Repairs applies if shown on the Schedule. A sentence printed incomplete says it is automatically included if the vehicle is up to 12 months old. An at fault claim needs the policyholder or a driver over 30 with the licence history stated, and the vehicle must be registered with the UAE dealer. | Conditional | Additional benefit 3.12Sukoon, Motor comprehensive terms and conditionsPrint code 11/2024 | 4 Nov 2026 |
Readings are paraphrased unless set as a quotation.
How to read a status
- Explicitly included
- The policy document says this is covered.
- Conditional
- The policy document covers this only under stated conditions.
- Explicitly excluded
- The policy document says this is not covered.
- Not stated in the documents
- The policy documents do not mention this. This does not mean it is not covered.
- Not yet verified
- We do not have a document for this yet.
Sources
11
1Central Bank of the UAE Rulebook, The Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Loss and Damage, v2 consolidated 2021-01-18. Effective 1 Jan 2017. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: The Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Loss and Damage
2Central Bank of the UAE Rulebook, Arabic text of the Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Loss and Damage, Rulebook latest version, Arabic. Effective 1 Jan 2017. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Arabic text of the Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Loss and Damage
3Central Bank of the UAE Rulebook, The Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Third Party Liability, v2 consolidated 2021-01-18. Effective 1 Jan 2017. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: The Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Third Party Liability
4Central Bank of the UAE Rulebook, Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Decision No. (30) of 2016 Concerning issuing Regulation for Motor Vehicle Insurance Tariffs, Shown as consolidated 2018-01-01. Table 2. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Decision No. (30) of 2016 Concerning issuing Regulation for Motor Vehicle Insurance Tariffs
5Central Bank of the UAE, Fundamental concepts of motor vehicle insurance in the UAE, Know your insurance rights. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Fundamental concepts of motor vehicle insurance in the UAE, Know your insurance rights
6UAE Legislation portal, Federal Decree-Law No. (14) of 2024 On Traffic Regulation, English text. Article 28. Effective 29 Mar 2025. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Federal Decree-Law No. (14) of 2024 On Traffic Regulation, English text
7Central Bank of the UAE Rulebook, Arabic text of the Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Third Party Liability, Rulebook latest version, Arabic. Effective 1 Jan 2017. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Arabic text of the Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Third Party Liability
8GIG Gulf, Car insurance product page. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Car insurance product page
9Sukoon Insurance PJSC, Motor comprehensive terms and conditions, Print code 11/2024. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Motor comprehensive terms and conditions
10National General Insurance, NGI Gold plan page. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: NGI Gold plan page
11Central Bank of the UAE, CB Register September of 2026. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: CB Register September of 2026
- Owner
- Carinsurance.ae research team
- Last review
- Next review due
- 5 May 2027
- Status
- Published