Skip to content

Does your car insurance cover you if you are hurt?

Third party cover leaves out you, the driver and employees hurt at work. A Personal Accidents Endorsement can add them for an extra premium. If you and your insurer agree to it, the death benefit is at least AED 200,000.

Updated 6 min read

The unified policies are the standard wording UAE insurers must use.1 Under the Third Party policy, the definition of a third party decides who is outside injury cover.2

Are you and your driver covered if you are hurt?

Not by third party cover. You and the driver are outside it. So are passengers employed by you, if hurt during and because of work. They need additional cover under a rider or another policy.2

Table 1.People in or near your car under the Third Party policy.
PersonPositionWhat applies
YouOutside third party coverAdditional cover needs a rider or another policy
The driverOutside third party coverAdditional cover needs a rider or another policy
A passenger employed by you, hurt during and because of workOutside third party coverAdditional cover needs a rider or another policy
Another passenger, inside, getting in or getting outThird partyThe value judicially awarded, without limit
A spouse, parent or child of you or of the driver who caused the accidentThird partyDeath AED 200,000 per person. Disability by percentage of that amount, plus treatment costs
The driver of a vehicle for rent, public transport or driving teachingThird partyDeath AED 200,000 per person. Injury limited by percentage of disability

The comprehensive and third party comparison has the wider limits.

How can you add injury cover?

Ask your insurer about a Personal Accidents Endorsement. It is additional cover against personal accidents for the driver, you and the passengers excluded from basic cover, for an additional premium.2 A separate policy or additional rider can also give new cover or higher limits.

How much would your endorsement pay?

At least AED 200,000 on death, where you and your insurer agree to insure these people.2

The unified policy does not state a maximum death benefit, any benefit for disability or treatment under the endorsement, or the premium. Check your insurer’s endorsement.

Four published riders pay the same amounts, and differ on who is covered.3,4,5,6 In each, the injury must lead to the loss within three months of the accident.

Table 2.Personal accident riders in published wordings, as of 6 November 2026.
InsurerWho it namesDeath or total permanent disabilitySight in one eye, or one hand or footOther permanent disability
GIG Gulf, PrestigeFamily members of you or the driver, and employees. Its scale has driver and passenger columnsAED 200,000 in the handbook scale. Its product page prints 350,000 for the driver on PrestigeAED 100,000Medical board percentage of the limit
QICAny licensed driver, and passengers who are your employeesAED 200,000AED 100,000Medical board percentage of AED 200,000
Sukoon, benefit 3.3You and any licensed driverAED 200,000AED 100,000Medical board percentage of AED 200,000
Watania TakafulYou, any licensed driver, and family membersAED 200,000AED 100,000Medical board percentage of AED 200,000

All four leave out death or injury from a physical or mental defect, infirmity or weakness.3,4,7,6 Ask your insurer how that applies to a health condition you have.

What would your endorsement cost?

Ask your insurer. The motor tariff, the regulator’s price rules, has columns headed Driver and Passenger for the combined loss and damage and third party policy.8

Table 3.Driver and Passenger columns in the motor tariff. These are regulated tariff entries, not quotes.
Your vehicleDriver (AED)Passenger (AED)
Salon12030
Four-wheel drive12030
Private and commercial trucks12030
Buses12030
Equipment12030
Motorcycle120None printed

The tariff does not label these columns as personal accident premium, and it does not use the term. It does not say whether they price the endorsement or whether they are optional. A note says payment of the premium for the passenger applies only to individuals who work for you.8

One published scheme prints the same figures. The key facts statement for ADIB’s motor takaful, provided by Abu Dhabi National Takaful, lists Personal Accident Benefit for driver and passengers as optional at AED 120 plus AED 30 per passenger.9

The third party tariff has no Driver or Passenger column. The amount for an endorsement on a third party policy alone is not stated.

Agreed additional cover carries an agreed additional premium, stated in clear wording, in a different colour or by addendum. An insurer, agent or broker may not charge any additional sum without a resolution from the Insurance Authority.8

Could a smaller add-on cover you instead?

Some plans list two smaller covers. Check your Schedule for either.

  • Personal injury. A fixed sum to you or your spouse. GIG Gulf lists AED 20,000 on Prestige and Perfect, and Liva lists AED 20,000.10,11 Sukoon lists AED 30,000 unless your Schedule says otherwise.5 In the GIG Gulf and QIC wordings this cover does not apply when the personal accident benefit is on your policy.3,4 Some stop at 70 or 75, as the page on car insurance above 60 shows.
  • Emergency medical expenses. Treatment costs after an accident. GIG Gulf lists AED 6,000 on Prestige and AED 3,500 on Perfect.10 QIC lists AED 3,500.12 Liva lists AED 3,500 or AED 6,000 by plan.11 Sukoon lists up to AED 5,000 per accident unless your Schedule says otherwise.5

Does your third party cover pay for an ambulance?

Yes. Your insurer must pay AED 6,770 to the provider of ambulance services and medical transport, per person injured or killed in an accident caused by your car. That includes the people outside injury cover. The rule takes account of an ambulance’s capacity to carry more than one person.2

Does your Loss and Damage cover pay for your injuries?

The Loss and Damage policy has no personal accident term.

It covers damage to your car.13 A rider can add damage to your property or the driver’s. That is property, not injury. The endorsement is defined in the Third Party policy only. Ask your insurer what your plan includes.

Can you claim on your other policies as well?

The Third Party policy does not say how a separate policy pays alongside the endorsement. One clause applies without affecting rights under life and personal accident insurance policies. Another says neither the policy nor a rider undermines a person’s right to claim under applicable legislation.2 Ask your insurer.

The small print
  • Who is outside third party cover. Table 1 draws on the Definitions, Chapter Two 1(a) First and Chapter Four 4 of the Third Party policy. Chapter Two 1(a) First refers to the driver of the vehicle that has caused the accident. Other passengers are in Chapter Two 1(a) First.2
  • Family and rental drivers. The family row is in the Definitions, Chapter One para 05(a) and Chapter Two 1(a) Second. The rental row is in the Definitions and Chapter One para 05(b).2
  • The endorsement. Chapter Four 4 refers to additional cover under a rider or another policy. Chapter One para 07(b) allows new cover or higher limits under a separate policy or additional rider.2
  • Death benefit. Chapter One para 20 applies where the parties agree to insure the insured, the driver or any person excluded from cover. The death benefit is then not less than AED 200,000.2
  • Riders. The death and disability scales are in GIG Gulf’s Personal Accident Benefit, QIC’s Personal Accident Benefit, Sukoon’s benefit 3.3 and Watania Takaful’s Personal Accident Benefit. Each applies only if bought or listed on your Schedule, or included in your plan. QIC’s key facts document lists AED 200,000 for driver and passenger.12 Liva lists AED 200,000 for driver and for passengers, optional or included by plan.11 GIG Gulf’s product page prints two figures for the Prestige personal accident cover. Its plan card prints “350,00 AED” for the driver and “200,00 AED” for the passenger. Its plan comparison table prints the same lines as 350,000 AED and 200,000 AED.10 Its Prestige handbook scale shows AED 200,000 in both the driver and passenger columns.3 Ask GIG Gulf which figure applies. All these insurers are on the Central Bank’s September 2026 register.14
  • Tariff columns. Table 3 here is Table 2 of the tariff, in AED. Table 1 of the tariff is the third party tariff. The Third Party policy separately leaves out passengers employed by the insured if hurt during and because of work. The tariff does not link the two.8
  • Additional premium. Tariff Art 3(3) covers agreed additional cover. Art 3(4) covers additional sums.8
  • Ambulance. This is Third Party Chapter Two para 6, and it includes those excluded in Chapter Two 1(a).2 Tariff Art 3(1)(b) includes the additional premium for this in the tariff.8
  • Loss and Damage policy. Its recitals cover damage to the insured vehicle. Chapter One para 05 allows the rider for damage to the property of the insured or the driver.13
  • Other policies. Third Party Chapter One para 09 applies without prejudice to rights under life and personal accident insurance policies. Para 23 is the rule on applicable legislation.2
  • The texts, as of 4 November 2026. The unified policies are under Insurance Authority Decision 25 of 2016, effective 1 January 2017, version consolidated 18 January 2021.2,13 The tariff took effect on 1 January 2017. The Rulebook labels the text as consolidated on 1 January 2018, yet lists a 2020 amendment and calls this the latest version.8
  • 2027. Cabinet Resolution 174 of 2026 takes effect on 1 January 2027.15 Ask your insurer whether it changes these terms.

What the policy wording says

Document by document

What each document says about injury to these people, as of 4 November 2026
DocumentDriverInsuredEmployee passenger hurt at work
Insurer riders and schedulesConditional5Varies by insurer. See Table 2.Conditional5Varies by insurer. See Table 2.Conditional4Varies by insurer. See Table 2.
Loss and Damage policyNot stated in the documents13Not stated in the documents13Not stated in the documents13
Third Party policyConditional2Outside third party cover unless added by rider or another policy.Conditional2Outside third party cover unless added by rider or another policy.Conditional2Outside third party cover unless added by rider or another policy.

Not stated in the documents does not mean the cover is absent. It means the reviewed document is silent.

Clause by clause

Question and readingStatusSourceEffectiveLast checked
Who is left outside third party injury cover?⁠2The insured, the driver, and passengers employed by the insured if hurt during and because of work, unless they have additional cover under a rider or another policy.ConditionalDefinitions, Chapter Two 1(a) First, Chapter Four 4Unified policy (CBUAE Rulebook), Third Party policyv2 consolidated 2021-01-181 Jan 20174 Nov 2026
What is the Personal Accidents Endorsement?⁠2Additional cover against personal accidents for the driver, the insured and the passengers excluded from basic cover, for an additional premium.ConditionalDefinitionsUnified policy (CBUAE Rulebook), Third Party policyv2 consolidated 2021-01-181 Jan 20174 Nov 2026
Is there a minimum death benefit?⁠2Where the parties agree to insure these people, the death benefit is set at not less than AED 200,000.ConditionalChapter One para 20Unified policy (CBUAE Rulebook), Third Party policyv2 consolidated 2021-01-181 Jan 20174 Nov 2026
Does ambulance cost reach excluded people?⁠2AED 6,770 per person to the ambulance provider, including people excluded under Chapter Two 1(a).Explicitly includedChapter Two para 6Unified policy (CBUAE Rulebook), Third Party policyv2 consolidated 2021-01-181 Jan 20174 Nov 2026
Does the tariff print amounts for driver and passenger?⁠8Columns headed Driver, AED 120, and Passenger, AED 30. The table does not label them as personal accident premium.ConditionalTable 2Motor tariff (CBUAE Rulebook), Insurance Authority Decision 30 of 2016Labelled v2 consolidated 2018-01-011 Jan 20174 Nov 2026

Readings are paraphrased unless set as a quotation.

How to read a status

Explicitly included
The policy document says this is covered.
Conditional
The policy document covers this only under stated conditions.
Explicitly excluded
The policy document says this is not covered.
Not stated in the documents
The policy documents do not mention this. This does not mean it is not covered.
Not yet verified
We do not have a document for this yet.

Sources

15

1Central Bank of the UAE Rulebook, Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Decision No. (25) of 2016 Pertinent to Regulation of the Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policies, v2 consolidated 2021-01-18. Article 2. Effective 1 Jan 2017. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Decision No. (25) of 2016 Pertinent to Regulation of the Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policies

2CBUAE Rulebook, The Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Third Party Liability, under Insurance Authority Decision No. (25) of 2016, v2 consolidated 2021-01-18. Effective 1 Jan 2017. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: The Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Third Party Liability, under Insurance Authority Decision No. (25) of 2016

3GIG Gulf, Motor Prestige policy handbook, File name 2024_11. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Motor Prestige policy handbook

4QIC, Motor Comprehensive Policy Wording 2026, File title V6, file name V5. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Motor Comprehensive Policy Wording 2026

5Sukoon Insurance PJSC, Motor comprehensive terms and conditions, Print code 11/2024. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Motor comprehensive terms and conditions

6Watania Takaful, published by Dubai Islamic Bank, Motor takaful terms and conditions. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Motor takaful terms and conditions

7Sukoon Insurance PJSC, Privilege motor terms and conditions, Print code 03/2026. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Privilege motor terms and conditions

8CBUAE Rulebook, Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Decision No. (30) of 2016 Concerning issuing Regulation for Motor Vehicle Insurance Tariffs, Labelled version 2, consolidated 2018-01-01. Effective 1 Jan 2017. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Decision No. (30) of 2016 Concerning issuing Regulation for Motor Vehicle Insurance Tariffs

9ADIB, provided by Abu Dhabi National Takaful, Motor Takaful Protection Key Facts Statement. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Motor Takaful Protection Key Facts Statement

10GIG Gulf, Car insurance product page. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Car insurance product page

11Liva Insurance, Motor key facts document. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Motor key facts document

12QIC, Motor Insurance Key Fact Document, File title v6, file name v5. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Motor Insurance Key Fact Document

13CBUAE Rulebook, The Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Loss and Damage, under Insurance Authority Decision No. (25) of 2016, v2 consolidated 2021-01-18. Effective 1 Jan 2017. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: The Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Loss and Damage, under Insurance Authority Decision No. (25) of 2016

14Central Bank of the UAE, CB Register September of 2026. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: CB Register September of 2026

15UAE Legislation portal, Cabinet Resolution 174 of 2026. Effective 1 Jan 2027. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Cabinet Resolution 174 of 2026

Owner
Carinsurance.ae research team
Last review
Next review due
5 May 2027
Status
Published

Report an error