Skip to content

Can you get a car insurance discount if you are above 60?

The motor tariff lists a 50% discount of the minimum premium for people above 60, added in 2020 as a coronavirus measure. The English and Arabic texts differ on whether your insurer must give it, and whether it still applies is not stated. An agreement that removes your claim because of your age is void.

Updated 10 min read

The motor tariff is the regulator’s price rules. It names “Elderly people, who are above 60 years old” as one of six groups for a discount.1

The unified policies are the standard wording UAE insurers must use.2 The unified motor policy guide covers the policy text as a whole.

How much could your discount be?

The tariff lists 50% of the minimum premium.1

Table 1.What the motor tariff says about the discount for people above 60.
Your questionWhat the tariff says
How much?50% discount of the minimum insurance premium
Who receives it?The owner of the motor vehicle
What age?Elderly people above 60 years old, the fifth of six listed groups
When?On renewal or on issue of a new policy
On which policies?Third party, and loss and damage

The other five groups are workers in the medical sector, members of the Armed Forces and the Police, members of the Civil Defence, people of determination, and individual applicants with accident-free records.1

Must your insurer give you the discount?

The tariff does not settle this. The English and Arabic texts differ on whether your insurer must give it, and the tariff does not say which wording controls. Ask your insurer.1 Ask too whether you need a claim-free record to get it, because the tariff does not settle that. The insurer wordings in Table 3 do not mention a discount for older drivers.

Does the 50% discount still apply?

The tariff does not say whether it still applies. It was added in 2020 as a coronavirus measure, to apply until the end of the crisis period as decided by the competent authorities.3 The Central Bank’s Rulebook still prints it in the tariff, shows the tariff as in force and gives no end date.1 Ask your insurer.

Do you count if you are exactly 60?

The tariff does not say. It says “above 60 years old” and does not say on what date your age is tested.1

It does not say what proof an insurer may ask for. The application forms attached to both unified policies ask for your date of birth.4,5

Does it matter whether you own the car?

The discount line names the vehicle owner. The rule above it names the individual applicant. The tariff does not say whether the driver’s age matters when the owner and the driver are different people, or how a company-owned vehicle is treated.1 Ask your insurer.

Is the percentage taken from your own premium?

The tariff measures it against the minimum premium. It does not say how the percentage works on a premium set above the minimum, or whether the result can fall below the minimum.1 Ask your insurer.

The minimums are regulated figures for a class of vehicle, not prices for any person or model. All are for a 13-month period. The last column is our sum, half of each minimum.

Table 2.Sample minimum premiums in the tariff, and 50% of each. These are not prices.
Your coverYour vehicleMinimum (AED)50% of it (AED)
Third partySalon, private, 4 cylinders750375
Third partySalon, private, 8 cylinders950475
Third partyFour-wheel drive, private, 4 cylinders1,000500
Loss and damage with third partySalon1,300650
Loss and damage with third partyFour-wheel drive2,0001,000
Loss and damage with third partyMotorcycle up to 200 CC800400

Can you combine your reductions?

The tariff does not settle this. It says only the highest rate applies where there is more than one reason for a reduction, but that line sits in the rule on gas and electric vehicles. It does not say whether the line also covers these discounts.1 Ask your insurer.

Can your age change your premium?

It can, within limits. An insurer may not discriminate on rates because of your age while you hold a valid licence, unless it has technical or actuarial reasons or previous experience with you.6 The tariff tables set minimums and maximums by vehicle. Neither table has an age band.1 Liva lists the age of the driver among the factors in its premium.7 Neither text says which way age moves a premium, so ask your insurer what it applies to you.

If you drive less, the tariff lets an insurer price a new or renewed policy by kilometres driven, at your request and up to the tariff maximum. That rule was added in 2020, to run until the end of the coronavirus period.3 Ask whether your insurer offers it.

Can your insurer refuse you because of your age?

Not because of your age, while you hold a valid driving licence. The exceptions are technical or actuarial reasons and the insurer’s previous experience with you.6

That rule covers refusing loss and damage insurance, refusing to renew a policy, and discriminating on rates, conditions or benefits. Third party insurance has its own rule. An insurer must issue it on request for any vehicle licensed in the UAE.6

Neither unified policy and neither tariff table states an upper age for holding a policy.

Cabinet Resolution 174 of 2026 takes effect on 1 January 2027. It says insurers may not refuse to insure a vehicle that technical inspection has found roadworthy.8 Ask your insurer whether it changes these terms. If you need to complain, the route is in the Sanadak complaints guide.

Can an agreement remove your claim because of your age?

No. Such an agreement is void. An insurer may not enter an outside agreement that reduces your cover or removes your right to claim for a reason unrelated to the accident, such as age or gender. The rule applies to a fleet policy or any vehicle insured under the policy.4 The Third Party policy has the same rule and adds “the date of acquiring the driving license” to the examples.5

Does your age add to your excess?

The Loss and Damage policy’s list of extra excess has no item for older drivers. Its one age item is a driver below 25, at up to 10% of the compensation.4 The excess page has the full list.

Both unified policies define a driver by a valid licence for the vehicle category, and set no age limit.4,5

Must you tell your insurer about a health condition?

The application form in both unified policies has no health question. It asks for your date of birth, your profession, and your licence number and expiry date.4,5 An insurer may ask for more. New India Assurance says drivers after 60 may be asked for additional medical information.9

Answer what you are asked in full. Both policies let your insurer recover what it paid if the insurance rested on misrepresentation or non-disclosure of material facts that affect its decision to cover you or the premium.4,5

Does your age change your driving licence?

In Dubai the sources differ, so check before you renew. From 1 January 2027 the federal rule sets no upper age.

  • Dubai, 2017 announcement. The RTA said drivers aged 65 and above would need a medical screening at an approved hospital or clinic to renew, from 1 September 2017. The renewed licence would last 3 years.10,11
  • Dubai, RTA service page as of 6 November 2026. It lists a valid eye test for citizens and residents, and a medical test for professional drivers. A licence lasts 10 years for UAE and GCC citizens and 5 years for residents aged 21 or above. It has no line for age 65.12
  • All emirates, from 1 January 2027. Cabinet Resolution 174 of 2026 gives the same 10 and 5 years. Its only shorter periods are for new drivers and drivers under 21. Every issue or renewal needs a medical report showing you are fit to drive. Any rule that conflicts with the Resolution is cancelled.8

Ask your licensing authority which rule it applies to you.

Your cover depends on your licence. A licence that has expired still counts if you renew it within 30 days of the accident. If you do not, the Loss and Damage policy excludes the damage and the Third Party policy lets your insurer recover what it paid.4,5

Can an add-on stop at a certain age?

Yes, in these wordings. Personal injury add-ons from GIG Gulf, QIC, Sukoon and Watania Takaful do not cover anyone over 70 or 75 at the time of the accident.13,14,15,16,17

Table 3.Age lines in personal injury add-ons, as of 6 November 2026. All four pay you or your spouse.
InsurerAmountNot covered
GIG Gulf, Prestige and PerfectAED 20,000Over 70
QICAs in its table of benefitsOver 75
Sukoon, benefit 3.5AED 30,000 unless your Schedule says otherwiseOver 70
Watania TakafulAs in your certificateOver 70

The personal accident benefits in the same wordings have no age line. GIG Gulf, QIC, Sukoon and Watania Takaful do leave out death or injury from a physical or mental defect, infirmity or weakness.13,15,18,17 Ask how your insurer treats a health condition before you buy one. The personal accident page compares what they pay.

The unified rule on outside agreements concerns cover under the policy. Neither unified policy says whether it reaches an add-on.

The small print
  • The discount. The motor tariff is Insurance Authority Decision 30 of 2016. The discount is Art 2(3)(e). Art 2(7) applies it to third party insurance and to loss and damage insurance.1
  • Where it came from. Resolution 17 of 2020, dated 21 April 2020, added para (e) to Art 2(3). Its recital gives the purpose as mitigating the effects of the novel coronavirus. Art 3 says it applies from its date of issue until the end of the coronavirus crisis period, as decided by the competent authorities.3,19
  • “May grant” and “shall be granted”. Art 2(3) opens by saying the company “may grant” a reduction to an individual applicant with a claim-free record, at the percentages that follow. In the English Rulebook text, para (e), one of those items, says the 50% discount “shall be granted”.1 The Arabic of para (e) has no equivalent of those words. It opens “نسبة 50%”, a rate of 50% (our translation), in the same form as paras (a) to (c), which follow the opening “للشركة منح”, the company may grant (our translation).19,20 Neither Rulebook page says which language controls. The tariff does not say which wording controls.
  • The 2020 announcement. The Authority’s announcement, reported by Emarat Al Youm from WAM on 23 April 2020, describes a power for insurers to reduce the minimum premium by up to 50%. It says the chairman stressed that insurers should activate the discounts.21 The Rulebook text says 50%, not up to 50%.
Table 4.Two readings of Art 2(3)(e).
ReadingWording it rests onResult on that reading
The opening governs every itemArt 2(3) opens “may grant”, and para (e) sits under that opening. The Arabic para (e) has no verb of its ownThe discount is at the insurer’s discretion. The opening’s claim-free record condition would also reach people above 60
Para (e) sets its own ruleEnglish para (e) says “shall be granted” and names its own recipients and timing. It also lists accident-free records as a separate groupThe discount goes to each listed group. A claim-free record would not be a condition for people above 60

Ask your insurer which reading it applies to its own policies.

  • Several reductions. The highest-rate line ends Art 2(6).1
  • Minimum premiums. The third party rows in Table 2 are Table 1 of the tariff. The loss and damage rows are Table 2 of the tariff. The Rulebook prints thousands with a point, so “1.300” is AED 1,300.1
  • The rule on outside agreements. This is Loss and Damage Chapter One para 07 and Third Party Chapter One para 07(a).4,5 Para 07 deals with cover and claims. It does not address whether an insurer accepts an application, or what premium it sets within the tariff limits under Art 2(2).1
  • The rule on refusal. This is Decision 25 of 2016, which does address those points. Art 4(2) covers loss and damage insurance, renewal and discrimination. Art 4(1) covers third party insurance on any vehicle licensed in the State.6
  • Excess. The extra excess is the additional deductible in Loss and Damage Chapter Three para 7.4 The driver definition is Motor Vehicle Driver in both policies.
  • Status of the tariff, as of 6 November 2026. The tariff took effect on 1 January 2017 and the Rulebook shows it as In-Force. It lists amendments by Decision 41 of 2017 and Resolution 17 of 2020.1 The Rulebook labels the text as consolidated on 1 January 2018, yet lists the 2020 amendment and calls this the latest version. Art 2(3)(a) to (d) came from Decision 41 of 2017, in force from 1 January 2018.20 Art 2(3)(e) came from Resolution 17 of 2020.3 The Arabic Rulebook page for the tariff still shows Art 2 without these paragraphs.22
  • Later laws. Decree-Law 48 of 2023 Art 114(2) keeps regulations issued under Federal Law 6 of 2007 effective so far as they do not conflict with it, until replaced. Decree-Law 6 of 2025 Art 183(1) keeps regulations issued under Decree-Law 48 of 2023 in force until replaced.23,24 The tariff does not say whether its bands still bind under those clauses.
  • 2027. The roadworthy rule is Art 102(2) of Cabinet Resolution 174 of 2026.8
  • Licences. The licence periods are Art 55 of Cabinet Resolution 174 of 2026. The medical report is Art 56(1)(c). The age rules in Art 54 are minimums. The cancellation of conflicting rules is Art 130, and the start date is Art 131 (our translation).8 The 30 days is in the definition of Motor Vehicle Driver in both policies. The exclusion is Loss and Damage Chapter Four para 06, and the recovery is Third Party Chapter Five para 05.4,5
  • Health questions. The form is Schedule 5 of the Loss and Damage policy, and the Third Party policy attaches the same fields. The recovery rule is Loss and Damage Chapter Five para 1 and Third Party Chapter Five para 01.4,5
  • Add-ons. GIG Gulf’s amount is on its product page.25 The wording for each personal injury add-on says it applies only to private vehicles. In the GIG Gulf and QIC wordings it does not apply when the personal accident benefit is on the policy.13,15 All four insurers, and Liva, are on the Central Bank’s September 2026 register.26

What the policy wording says

Document by document

What each document says about age, as of 4 November 2026
DocumentDiscount for people above 60Agreement removing a claim because of age
Insurer wordings and schedulesNot yet verifiedNot yet verified
Loss and Damage policyNot stated in the documents4Explicitly excluded4Void under Chapter One para 07.
Motor tariff, Decision 30 of 2016Conditional1Art 2(3) opens "may grant". English para (e) says "shall be granted", the Arabic does not. Added by Resolution 17 of 2020, until the end of the coronavirus period.Not stated in the documents1
Third Party policyNot stated in the documents5Explicitly excluded5Void under Chapter One para 07(a).

Not stated in the documents does not mean the cover is absent. It means the reviewed document is silent.

Clause by clause

Question and readingStatusSourceEffectiveLast checked
Does the tariff list people above 60 for a discount?⁠1A 50% discount of the minimum premium, for the vehicle owner on renewal or a new policy. The article opens "may grant" and English para (e) says "shall be granted". The Arabic has no such verb. Added by Resolution 17 of 2020, until the end of the coronavirus period. Whether it still applies is not stated.ConditionalArt 2(3)(e), group 5Motor tariff (CBUAE Rulebook), Insurance Authority Decision 30 of 2016Labelled v2 consolidated 2018-01-0121 Apr 20204 Nov 2026
Does the discount apply to both policy types?⁠1The preceding paragraphs apply to third party insurance and to loss and damage insurance.Explicitly includedArt 2(7)Motor tariff (CBUAE Rulebook), Insurance Authority Decision 30 of 2016Labelled v2 consolidated 2018-01-011 Jan 20184 Nov 2026
Can an agreement remove a claim because of age?⁠4An external agreement that reduces cover or removes a claim for a reason unrelated to the accident, such as age or gender, is void.Explicitly excludedChapter One para 07Unified policy (CBUAE Rulebook), Loss and Damage policyv2 consolidated 2021-01-181 Jan 20174 Nov 2026
Can an agreement remove a claim because of age?⁠5The same rule, with the date of acquiring the driving licence added to the list of reasons.Explicitly excludedChapter One para 07(a)Unified policy (CBUAE Rulebook), Third Party policyv2 consolidated 2021-01-181 Jan 20174 Nov 2026
Is there an extra deductible for older drivers?⁠4The list has one age item, a driver below 25. It has no item for older drivers.Not stated in the documentsChapter Three para 7Unified policy (CBUAE Rulebook), Loss and Damage policyv2 consolidated 2021-01-181 Jan 20174 Nov 2026

Readings are paraphrased unless set as a quotation.

How to read a status

Explicitly included
The policy document says this is covered.
Conditional
The policy document covers this only under stated conditions.
Explicitly excluded
The policy document says this is not covered.
Not stated in the documents
The policy documents do not mention this. This does not mean it is not covered.
Not yet verified
We do not have a document for this yet.

Sources

26

1CBUAE Rulebook, Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Decision No. (30) of 2016 Concerning issuing Regulation for Motor Vehicle Insurance Tariffs, Labelled version 2, consolidated 2018-01-01. Effective 1 Jan 2017. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Decision No. (30) of 2016 Concerning issuing Regulation for Motor Vehicle Insurance Tariffs

2Central Bank of the UAE Rulebook, Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Decision No. (25) of 2016 Pertinent to Regulation of the Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policies, v2 consolidated 2021-01-18. Article 2. Effective 1 Jan 2017. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Decision No. (25) of 2016 Pertinent to Regulation of the Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policies

3CBUAE Rulebook, Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Resolution No. (17) of 2020 on the Amendment of Some Provisions of Resolution No. (30) of 2016. Articles 1 and 3. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Resolution No. (17) of 2020 on the Amendment of Some Provisions of Resolution No. (30) of 2016

4CBUAE Rulebook, The Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Loss and Damage, under Insurance Authority Decision No. (25) of 2016, v2 consolidated 2021-01-18. Effective 1 Jan 2017. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: The Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Loss and Damage, under Insurance Authority Decision No. (25) of 2016

5CBUAE Rulebook, The Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Third Party Liability, under Insurance Authority Decision No. (25) of 2016, v2 consolidated 2021-01-18. Effective 1 Jan 2017. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: The Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Third Party Liability, under Insurance Authority Decision No. (25) of 2016

6CBUAE Rulebook, Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Decision No. (25) of 2016 Pertinent to Regulation of the Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policies, v2 consolidated 2021-01-18. Article 4. Effective 1 Jan 2017. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Decision No. (25) of 2016 Pertinent to Regulation of the Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policies

7Liva Insurance, Motor Insurance Policy Booklet, comprehensive wording, File name dated 29 April 2024. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Motor Insurance Policy Booklet, comprehensive wording

8UAE Legislation portal, Cabinet Resolution 174 of 2026. Effective 1 Jan 2027. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Cabinet Resolution 174 of 2026

9New India Assurance, UAE site, Car Insurance for Senior Drivers in the UAE. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Car Insurance for Senior Drivers in the UAE

10Emirates 24/7, RTA introduces medical testing of driver license applicants aged 65 or above. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: RTA introduces medical testing of driver license applicants aged 65 or above

11Gulf Business, Dubai to hold medical tests for motorists aged 65 and above. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Dubai to hold medical tests for motorists aged 65 and above

12Roads and Transport Authority, Dubai, Apply for or Manage a Driving Licence, Renew Driving Licence. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Apply for or Manage a Driving Licence, Renew Driving Licence

13GIG Gulf, Motor Prestige policy handbook, File name 2024_11. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Motor Prestige policy handbook

14GIG Gulf, Motor Perfect policy handbook, File name 2024_10. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Motor Perfect policy handbook

15QIC, Motor Comprehensive Policy Wording 2026, File title V6, file name V5. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Motor Comprehensive Policy Wording 2026

16Sukoon Insurance PJSC, Motor comprehensive terms and conditions, Print code 11/2024. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Motor comprehensive terms and conditions

17Watania Takaful, published by Dubai Islamic Bank, Motor takaful terms and conditions. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Motor takaful terms and conditions

18Sukoon Insurance PJSC, Privilege motor terms and conditions, Print code 03/2026. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Privilege motor terms and conditions

19CBUAE Rulebook, Insurance Authority Resolution No. (17) of 2020, Arabic text. Articles 1 and 3. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Insurance Authority Resolution No. (17) of 2020, Arabic text

20CBUAE Rulebook, Insurance Authority Decision No. (41) of 2017 amending Decision No. (30) of 2016, Arabic text. Effective 1 Jan 2018. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Insurance Authority Decision No. (41) of 2017 amending Decision No. (30) of 2016, Arabic text

21Emarat Al Youm, citing WAM, هيئة التأمين: خصومات تصل إلى 50% للعاملين في خط الدفاع الأول. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: هيئة التأمين: خصومات تصل إلى 50% للعاملين في خط الدفاع الأول

22CBUAE Rulebook, Insurance Authority Decision No. (30) of 2016, Arabic page. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Insurance Authority Decision No. (30) of 2016, Arabic page

23CBUAE Rulebook, Federal Decree-Law No. (48) of 2023 Regulating Insurance Activities. Article 114. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Federal Decree-Law No. (48) of 2023 Regulating Insurance Activities

24CBUAE Rulebook, Federal Decree-Law No. (6) of 2025 Regarding the Central Bank, Regulation of Financial Institutions and Activities, and Insurance Business. Article 183. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Federal Decree-Law No. (6) of 2025 Regarding the Central Bank, Regulation of Financial Institutions and Activities, and Insurance Business

25GIG Gulf, Car insurance product page. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: Car insurance product page

26Central Bank of the UAE, CB Register September of 2026. Last checked 6 Nov 2026. Source document: CB Register September of 2026

Owner
Carinsurance.ae research team
Last review
Next review due
4 Feb 2027
Status
Published

Report an error