Skip to content

Vehicle

Tesla cars have no cylinder row in the UAE third party tariff

What this page coversCheck what the UAE motor rules say about Tesla and other electric cars.

Table 1 of the UAE motor tariff has no row for electric vehicles. Art 2(6) allows a renewal reduction of up to 25% for vehicles running on electricity. The unified policies do not mention batteries.

Reviewed Owner Carinsurance.ae research team14 sources

Tesla. Stylised drawing from cited dimensions, not a manufacturer image.
Tesla Model Y, side and front elevationStylised technical drawing derived from published dimensions. Length 4,790 mm, wheelbase 2,890 mm, height 1,624 mm. Not a manufacturer image.Wheelbase 2,890 mmLength 4,790 mmHeight 1,624 mm1 mWidth 1,920 mm

Vehicle facts

Powertrains
Electric
Model 310Length, width excluding mirrors, height. Wheelbase 2,875 mm. Rear-Wheel Drive and Long Range.
4,720 x 1,850 x 1,440 mm
Model S11Length, width excluding mirrors, height at medium suspension. Wheelbase 2,960 mm.
5,021 x 1,987 x 1,431 mm
Model X12Length, width excluding mirrors, height at medium suspension. Wheelbase 2,965 mm.
5,057 x 1,999 x 1,680 mm
Model Y13Length, width excluding mirrors, height. Wheelbase 2,890 mm. Premium, 5 seats.
4,790 x 1,920 x 1,624 mm
Cybertruck14Length, width excluding mirrors, height. Wheelbase 3,635 mm. Dual Motor All-Wheel Drive.
5,682.9 x 2,031.6 x 1,788 mm

Research notes

The tariff and the two unified policies do not name Tesla. What differs for an electric car is the cylinder keying of Table 1, the renewal reduction in Art 2(6), and silence on batteries. Schedule 5 of the Loss and Damage policy records make and model among the vehicle details.1 The same text applies to any electric car, as the EV insurance guide sets out.

Table 1 has no row for electric vehicles

Table 1 of the tariff sets the third party premium. Its private and commercial car rows are keyed to cylinders, and its pickup and truck rows to tonnage.2

What Table 1 uses to set third party bands, version consolidated 2018-01-01
Table 1 row groupKeyed toRow for electric vehicles
Salon, private and commercial4, 6, 8 or more than 8 cylindersNone
Four-wheel drive, private and commercial4, 6, 8 or more than 8 cylindersNone
Pickup and truckTonnage, up to 1 ton to more than 3 tonsNone

The tariff does not say which row applies to any Tesla. Ask your insurer how it places an electric car in this table.

Table 2 sets the combined premium by body type, not by cylinders: Salon, minimum AED 1,300 and maximum rate 5%. Four-wheel drive, minimum AED 2,000 and maximum rate 7%.2 These are regulated bands, not prices. Which row applies to a given Tesla is not stated.

The Rulebook labels this text version 2, consolidated 1 January 2018, and also lists an amendment by Resolution No. (17) of 2020.2

Art 2(6) allows a reduction of up to 25% at renewal

The company may grant a reduction for vehicles running on gas or electricity at renewal, of not more than 25% of the premium, taking into account accidents caused by the vehicle that led to claims. Where more than one reason for reduction applies, only the highest rate applies. Art 2(7) applies this to both third party and loss and damage insurance.2 Decision 41 of 2017 added both paragraphs from 1 January 2018.3

The wording is “may”. The reduction is permitted, not automatic.

ADNIC wrote on 22 June 2026 that electric car insurance in the UAE can cost more because repair costs can be higher.4 Executives at Policybazaar and Salama put EV premiums about 10% to 35% above comparable petrol cars, Al Khaleej reported on 25 October 2026.5

The unified policies do not mention batteries

Neither unified policy contains the word battery or hybrid.1,6 Silence is not an exclusion, and it says nothing about any insurer’s schedule.

Two Loss and Damage clauses deal with breakdown and devices:

  • Chapter Two para 1 compensates loss or damage arising from, among other causes, an unexpected mechanical breakdown or wear and tear of parts by use.1
  • Chapter Four exclusion 01 removes indirect losses and devaluation resulting from use, breakdown, defect or breakage of the mechanical or electrical devices. It is the only use of “electrical” in the policy.1

The policy does not say whether gradual loss of battery capacity counts as devaluation under exclusion 01. Ask your insurer.

Three insurer and broker sources address batteries:

  • ADNIC wrote that EV-specific cover usually needs to address battery protection, charging equipment, and electrical and software issues.4
  • In Sukoon’s motor wording, print code 11/2024, “battery” appears only in roadside battery boost terms, and no new battery is provided under that service. The wording does not use the term “electric vehicle”.7
  • eSanad tells buyers to get written confirmation of how a policy treats the high-voltage battery.8

The Sukoon wording, the GIG Gulf product page9 and the ADNIC article contain no EV-specific policy wording.

Dimensions come from the en_ae owner’s manuals

The figures above and the drawings below come from the en_ae editions of Tesla’s manuals, as of 4 November 2026. An en_ae manual does not show that a model or variant is on sale in the UAE. The drawings say nothing about cover.

Other variant figures in the en_ae manuals
ModelVariant figures
Model 3Performance: 4,724 mm long, 1,431 mm high. Width with mirrors 2,089 mm.
Model SHighest suspension height 1,478 mm. Width with mirrors 2,189 mm.
Model XHighest suspension height 1,740 mm. Width with mirrors 2,271 mm.
Model YPerformance: 4,796 mm long, 1,611 mm high. Model Y L, 6 seats: 4,969 mm long, wheelbase 3,040 mm.
CybertruckPremium AWD and Cyberbeast height varies by air setting, 1,738.8 to 1,943.8 mm. Width with mirrors 2,413.3 mm.
Tesla Model 3, side elevationStylised technical drawing derived from published dimensions. Length 4,720 mm, wheelbase 2,875 mm, height 1,440 mm. Not a manufacturer image.Wheelbase 2,875 mmLength 4,720 mmHeight 1,440 mm1 m

Tesla Model 3, Model 3 Rear-Wheel Drive/Long Range, Owner's Manual, en_ae. Length 4,720 mm, wheelbase 2,875 mm, height 1,440 mm. Stylised drawing from cited dimensions, not a manufacturer image.

Tesla, Inc., read 2026-11-04.

Tesla Model S, side elevationStylised technical drawing derived from published dimensions. Length 5,021 mm, wheelbase 2,960 mm, height 1,431 mm. Not a manufacturer image.Wheelbase 2,960 mmLength 5,021 mmHeight 1,431 mm1 m

Tesla Model S, Model S, Owner's Manual, en_ae, suspension set to medium. Length 5,021 mm, wheelbase 2,960 mm, height 1,431 mm. Stylised drawing from cited dimensions, not a manufacturer image.

Tesla, Inc., read 2026-11-04.

Tesla Model X, side elevationStylised technical drawing derived from published dimensions. Length 5,057 mm, wheelbase 2,965 mm, height 1,680 mm. Not a manufacturer image.Wheelbase 2,965 mmLength 5,057 mmHeight 1,680 mm1 m

Tesla Model X, Model X, Owner's Manual, en_ae, suspension set to medium. Length 5,057 mm, wheelbase 2,965 mm, height 1,680 mm. Stylised drawing from cited dimensions, not a manufacturer image.

Tesla, Inc., read 2026-11-04.

Tesla Cybertruck, side elevationStylised technical drawing derived from published dimensions. Length 5,683 mm, wheelbase 3,635 mm, height 1,788 mm. Not a manufacturer image.Wheelbase 3,635 mmLength 5,683 mmHeight 1,788 mm1 m

Tesla Cybertruck, Cybertruck Dual Motor All-Wheel Drive, Owner's Manual, en_ae. Length 5,682.9 mm, wheelbase 3,635 mm, height 1,788 mm. Stylised drawing from cited dimensions, not a manufacturer image.

Tesla, Inc., read 2026-11-04.

Other vehicle facts are on the vehicles page. The cover explorer shows cover topics by document.

Clause readings

Question and readingStatusSourceEffectiveLast checked
Does the tariff set a reduction for electric vehicles?⁠2The company may grant a reduction of not more than 25% at renewal for vehicles running on gas or electricity, taking account of accidents caused by the vehicle that led to claims.ConditionalArt 2(6)Motor tariff (CBUAE Rulebook), Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Decision No. (30) of 2016Version 2, consolidated 2018-01-01UNKNOWN4 Nov 2026
Does the Loss and Damage policy mention batteries?⁠1The policy does not use the words battery or hybrid.Not stated in the documentsClause UNKNOWNUnified policy (CBUAE Rulebook), Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Loss and Damagev2 consolidated 2021-01-18UNKNOWN4 Nov 2026
Does the Third Party Liability policy mention batteries?⁠6The policy does not use the words battery or hybrid.Not stated in the documentsClause UNKNOWNUnified policy (CBUAE Rulebook), Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Third Party Liabilityv2 consolidated 2021-01-18UNKNOWN4 Nov 2026

Readings are paraphrased unless set as a quotation.

Sources

14

1Central Bank of the UAE, Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Loss and Damage, Version 2, consolidated as of 2021-01-18. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Loss and Damage

2Central Bank of the UAE, Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Decision No. (30) of 2016 Concerning issuing Regulation for Motor Vehicle Insurance Tariffs, Version 2, consolidated as of 2018-01-01. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Insurance Authority Board of Directors' Decision No. (30) of 2016 Concerning issuing Regulation for Motor Vehicle Insurance Tariffs

3CBUAE Rulebook, Board of Directors' Decision No. (41) of 2017 amending the motor tariff. Effective 1 Jan 2018. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Board of Directors' Decision No. (41) of 2017 amending the motor tariff

4ADNIC, Is electric vehicle insurance different from traditional motor insurance?. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Is electric vehicle insurance different from traditional motor insurance?

5Al Khaleej, Arabic report on the cost of electric car insurance in the UAE. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Arabic report on the cost of electric car insurance in the UAE

6Central Bank of the UAE, Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Third Party Liability, Version 2, consolidated as of 2021-01-18. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Unified Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy Against Third Party Liability

7Sukoon Insurance, Motor comprehensive terms and conditions (English), Print code 11/2024. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Motor comprehensive terms and conditions (English)

8eSanad, Electric Car Insurance UAE | Compare EV Cover Online | eSanad. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Electric Car Insurance UAE | Compare EV Cover Online | eSanad

9GIG Gulf, Car insurance product page. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Car insurance product page

10Tesla, Inc., Dimensions (Model 3 Owner's Manual), en_ae. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Dimensions (Model 3 Owner's Manual)

11Tesla, Inc., Dimensions (Model S Owner's Manual), en_ae. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Dimensions (Model S Owner's Manual)

12Tesla, Inc., Dimensions (Model X Owner's Manual), en_ae. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Dimensions (Model X Owner's Manual)

13Tesla, Inc., Dimensions (Model Y Owner's Manual), en_ae. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Dimensions (Model Y Owner's Manual)

14Tesla, Inc., Dimensions, Weights, and Cargo Capacity (Cybertruck Owner's Manual), en_ae. Last checked 4 Nov 2026. Source document: Dimensions, Weights, and Cargo Capacity (Cybertruck Owner's Manual)

Owner
Carinsurance.ae research team
Last review
Next review due
3 May 2027
Status
Published

Report an error